Domestic Violence And Child Neglect Defense
Why You Should Always Fight DUI Charges
A drunk driving conviction in Tennessee is a big deal. Here are just some of the penalties and effects you may be subjected to:
- License suspension for one year on a first offense and two years on a second offense
- Jail time of between 48 hours and 11 months, 29 days for a first offense
- Alcohol treatment course, which is at the judge’s discretion for a first offense
- Significant fines (potentially thousands of dollars worth, if you have previous DUI convictions on your record)
- Ignition interlock device installation at your own expense
- Loss of CDL (for commercial truck drivers)
- Unanticipated consequences, such as difficulty renting an apartment or getting a job
Immediately after a DWI/DUI arrest, you should contact a criminal defense attorney. I am Davidson County attorney Tommy Overton, and I can immediately step in and protect your rights at this most critical time.
When you hire me, I will give you my cellphone number and your calls will be sent directly to me. You can reach me with your concerns day or night.
Free consultation: Complete this online contact form, or call my office in Nashville at 615-953-8796. Talk to me before talking to the police.
Charged With DUI? What You Should Know.
It is not uncommon for people who have been charged with drunk or drugged driving to simply plead guilty and accept the penalties. But before you plead guilty and pay your fine, you should know that you can fight DUI charges — even if you think your case isn’t winnable because you failed field sobriety testing or a blood test.
As a DUI/DWI lawyer with more than 28 years of experience, I have handled numerous DUI cases, helping clients avoid convictions, jail time, and all of the other consequences associated with a drunk driving conviction. During your free initial consultation, we can discuss the details of your case and identify your legal options. I will evaluate your case from every angle in an attempt to build the strongest case possible on your behalf.
Does Tennessee Have An Implied Consent Law?
Tennessee does have an implied consent law, which means that if you refuse to submit to a blood, breath, or urine test if you are suspected of drunk driving, you automatically risk having your driver’s license suspended for one year. In order to challenge the license suspension, you will have to immediately request a hearing. I can help you fight for your license, but you have to call me before it is too late.
For a drunk driving defense that you can count on, call the Law Offices of Thomas T. Overton at 615-953-8796 or complete this form.